ADÜ Menü

ERASMUS+ Program Koordinatörlüğü


The Bologna Process launched the European Higher Education Area in 2010, in which students can choose from a wide and transparent range of high quality courses and benefit from smooth recognition procedures. The Bologna Declaration of June 1999 put in motion a series of reforms needed to make European Higher Education more compatible and comparable, more competitive and more attractive for Europeans and for students and scholars from other continents. Reform was needed then and reform is still needed today if Europe is to match the performance of the best performing systems in the world. The three overarching objectives of the Bologna process have been from the start: introduction of the three cycle system (bachelor/master/doctorate), quality assurance and recognition of qualifications and periods of study. In the Bucharest Communiqué, April 2012, the Ministers identified three key priorities - mobility, employability and quality, and emphasized the importance of higher education for Europe's capacity to deal with the economic crisis and to contribute to growth and jobs. Ministers also committed to making automatic recognition of comparable academic degrees a long-term goal of the European Higher Education Area. The Bucharest Communiqué builds on the Leuven Communiqué of 2009, which established priorities for 2010-2020:

1. Ensuring a quality higher education system

2. Adopting a two- or three-cycle system of study (BA, MA, PhD)

3. Promoting the mobility of students and academic and administrative staff

4. Introducing a credit system (ECTS) for the assessment of study performance

5. The Recognition of levels: adopting a system of easily identifiable and comparable levels

6. The Active involvement of higher education institutions, teachers and students in the Bologna Process and student participation in the management of higher education

7. Promoting a European dimension in higher education

8. Promoting the attractiveness of the European higher education area

9. Lifelong learning

10. A European higher education area and a European research area – two pillars of a society based on knowledge.